Skip to content

CW many times more effective in getting a signal out

April 22, 2012

CW many times more effective in getting a signal thru than is SSB. An example was last wkend, April 13, when I was at my cabin in NC testing a homebrew Buddistick I would use the following day on a SOTA activation of a mtn on the Blue Ridge Pkwy. I was particularly interested in 40m so I could communicate with my friends in Georgia so WA4ZXV in Atl agreed to a sked. On SSB it was worthless but on CW he heard me with 2.5w and I got 569 rst.

One Comment
  1. Jose EA2EA permalink

    Hi Wayne.

    Always in cw get more DX QSO then ssb with the same pwr. In two Sota activation, I made QsO with Japanese Stations ( 6.200 miles more or lees ) with my FT-817 and fisher pole antenna.

    Good luck with your QRP activities.

    73 Jose

Leave a Reply

